Pre-Orders For Xbox One S All-Digital Edition Available Now

GAMING

News of an all-digital Xbox One S leaked earlier this month, and Microsoft officially unveiled the new console Tuesday during an Inside Xbox stream. The Xbox One S All-Digital Edition, which has no disc drive, will release on May 7, and you'll be able to pick it up for $250–about $50 cheaper than the standard Xbox One S at full price.

The digital Xbox One S comes pre-installed with three games developed by Microsoft–Minecraft, Forza Horizon 3, and Sea of Thieves. The new console is identical in functionality to the regular Xbox One S–the only difference is the lack of a disc drive, so there's no ability to play game discs, DVDs, and other disc-based media. The digital Xbox One S will still be able to play 4K content from Netflix, Amazon, and other streaming sites.

No Caption Provided

If you're excited to pick it up on Day 1, save yourself some time and pre-order the new console today. The following retailers have opened pre-orders for the new Xbox One S:

PRE-ORDER AT MICROSOFT STORE »

PRE-ORDER AT AMAZON »

PRE-ORDER AT WALMART »

PRE-ORDER AT BEST BUY »

The Xbox One S All-Digital Edition has been a long time coming; Microsoft has reportedly wanted to launch an all-digital console since 2013. Some gamers still prefer to own a physical disc–and the other Xbox One consoles still exist to serve this audience–but this new console is aimed at those who are ready to go completely digital and want a (slightly) cheaper option. "The Xbox One S All-Digital Edition was created for those who prefer to find and play their games digitally and are looking for the most affordable way to play Xbox games," said Xbox executive Jeff Gattis.

Timed perfectly with the release of the digital Xbox One S is a promotion for Xbox Game Pass, the subscription service that grants unlimited access to more than 100 Xbox One and Xbox 360 digital games. Microsoft is currently offering three months of Xbox Game Pass for just $1, and that deal will be available until May 13 at 12 AM PT / 3 AM ET / 7 AM GMT / 5 PM AET.

Some links to supporting retailers are automatically made into affiliate links, and GameSpot may receive a small share of those sales.

Filed under:
Xbox One
Gametech

Got a news tip or want to contact us directly? Email [email protected]

Original Article

Leave a Reply